March 2018  
Today's Events
Church Music Through the Ages

A Monthly Series on Thursday Evenings and Sunday mornings

This series is intended to enrich our understanding and appreciation of the diversity of church music, particularly music offered in the Episcopal Church.  We will look at several significant eras, paying special attention to hymns and anthems from our Hymnal and repertoire.  For each topic, there will be a class on a Thursday night and the following Sunday music from that era will be featured in worship.  You can come to any or all of the events which are free and open to the public.

I.    The Middle Ages
       a. Class: Thursday, September 21 at 7:00pm
       b. Worship: Sunday, September 24 at 10:00am

II.   Renaissance/Tudor
       a. Class: Thursday, October 19 at 7:00pm
       b. Worship: Sunday, October 22 at 10:00am

III.  Great Music of the Reformation - Bach, Handel, Purcell
       a. Class: Thursday, November 16 at 7:00pm
       b. Worship: Sunday, November 19 at 10:00am

IV.  Golden Age of Hymns - Wesley et al. and the Great Awakening
       a. Class: Thursday, January 18 at 7:00pm
       b. Worship: Sunday, January 21 at 10:00am

V.   The Victorians
       a. Class: Thursday, February 16 at 7:00pm
       b. Worship: Sunday, February 11 at 10:00am

VI.  American Church Music - shape note, Gospel and Beyond
       a. Class: Thursday, April 12 at 7:00pm
       b. Worship: Sunday, April 15 19 at 10:00am

VII. Modern Trends in Church Music
       a. Class: Thursday, May 3 at 7:00pm
       b. Worship: Sunday, May 6 at 10:00am



Contents © 2018 St. Philip's Episcopal Church | Church Website Provided by | Privacy Policy